Day 61: What was I thinking?

I have mentioned my vow not to resort to cat pictures too often for my Project 365 posts this year. Of course I can’t resist at times, not only when I’m struggling to find a good shot, but also because Zelda and Mrs.Parker are just so damn cute.

I think it’s been good in the sense that it “forces” creativity: I have to really pay attention to things around me. Am I so sure that I don’t have the potential for a good picture? Can I use a different technique to capture a mundane scene from an unexpected angle or focus to create a fresh perspective on an old subject? Can I get better at sneaking pictures in cafés and classrooms to get interesting portraits?

Still I struggle to know when to challenge myself and when to give myself a break. When is it okay to post cat pictures?

And then it hit me. I don’t know why I didn’t see it sooner. I really should have known. I have cats. I use the Internet. I Liked Henri, Le Chat Noir on Facebook. I even wrote a post on Lolspeak.

I know damn well when to post cat pictures on the Internet.

CATURDAY!

I dubbed him Mr.Fluffy. Original, no?

I saw him during a walk last weekend. I had no idea if he is actually a she, but I still dubbed him Mr.Fluffy. Original, no?

So from now on, Saturdays are Caturdays on A Modern Day Dinosaur. The pictures won’t always  be of Zelda and Mrs.Parker. Buzz has cats. Co-workers have cats. Random people have outdoor cats. I can still try to push my creativity, but rather than searching for new subjects, I can experiment by using different photographic techniques on one subject.

Because the Internet needs more pictures of cats.

7 comments on “Day 61: What was I thinking?

  1. vintagekaren says:

    Being a cat person myself, I’m giving two thumbs up to Caturdays!

    • limr says:

      Yay! Just to prove how disturbingly silly I can get sometimes, I’ve been yelling that to Zelda and Mrs.Parker: “Two thumbs up for Caturday, girls! Put your paws up!” They’re pretending to act all cool and uninterested, but I’m sure it’s just an act 😉

  2. Ha! I actually had a cat named Fluffy once! By the way, I just the love the names of your cats, Zelda and Mrs. Parker.

    • limr says:

      I would laugh a lot if Fluffy was one of those hairless cats 😉
      And thanks. I almost feel like I didn’t have a choice. Those two just fit their names immediately!

  3. Lenore Diane says:

    Mr. Fluffy does not look amused. Here’s to Caturday.

  4. […] out, Mr.Fluffy is quite the friendly little cat. He walked alongside me for 2 blocks, and then started flirting in […]

Leave a Reply

