My double life.

Maybe it’s because I was born a Pisces. Maybe because I’m just contrary by nature. I don’t know. Whatever the reason, however, I find that my life is constantly being pulled in two different directions. How do you think I came up with my blog name, after all?

These days, the conflict manifests itself in my roles as both student and teacher, and in the decision to either keep teaching and trying to squeeze more money blood out of the stone of academia, or to finish my training as a paralegal and enter the legal profession.

It seems fitting, then, that I’ve recently tried my first intentional double exposure photograph. I’ve had a few happy accidents with this in the past, but I hadn’t yet tried to plan one. It came out well enough to encourage me to do more.

Double Chrysler resized

As for my double life and whether or not the results will also be encouraging, I guess I’ll just have to keep shooting and hope for the best!

2 comments on “My double life.

  1. nigelrobinson says:

    Hi Leonore, I’ve tried to do these on occasion digitally and have been thinking about what makes a good one. My feeling about it is that somehow the two elements need to build onto each other. I also think they work well when the intention is aiming to be surreal. Just my 2c.

    • limr says:

      I tend to agree. I have lucked out with some really interesting accidental double exposures and I wanted to start exploring doing them intentionally (what a novel concept!) I started with something obvious – taking one photo that included empty space and seeing if I could fill that space with the second frame. Since that worked more or less the way I had intended it to, I need to now move onto more challenging ways to overlay the images. Now the trick is finding the time to do so! Luckily the semester is closer to the end than it is to the beginning, so hopefully I’ll get more chances soon.

      Thanks for commenting and following! 🙂 I’ve got your site bookmarked so I can go poke around when I’m at work oops, I mean at home relaxing 😉

Leave a Reply

