Day 206: Force of habit.

It has been said that it takes only two weeks to establish a habit.

It has also been said that statements such as the previous are steaming piles of horse manure.

I really don’t know where the truth lies, but I know that habits seem to be easier to establish than to break. Take for example the habit of having a post magically publish on my blog for nearly three weeks without having to do a thing. I settled into that one very quickly – becoming so comfortable with it in fact, that it took me until the afternoon today to remember that I hadn’t actually scheduled a post for today.

It’s been that sort of a day. It started out with forgetting my lunch on the kitchen counter. That habit was somehow overlooked as I focused on remembering that I had changed purses; I didn’t want to inadvertently take the wrong one.

When I got to the parking lot at work and got out of the car, I realized that it was a bit chillier outside than I’d thought it would be, so I placed my bag on the driver’s seat and put on a sweater. Then I closed the car door. And here’s where yet another habit bit me in the arse today.

I’ve got a very low-tech car with old-fashioned manual locks that work by pushing in or pulling out a pin on the door panel. I’m so paranoid about leaving my car unlocked that I’ve established a routine of automatically pushing down that pin as soon as I open my door. So when that door closed today with my bag – and wallet, and cell phone, and, most importantly, my keys – on the seat, my mind switched to its dramatic, distorted, low-pitch/slow-motion mode as I silently screamed, “Noooooooooo!”

It was an hour after the kind men from the nearby service garage jimmied the lock for me that I finally realized I had forgotten my lunch.

But what did I say about sweating the stupid little first-world problems we get ourselves into with our mindless adherence to habits?

That’s right. Embrace the suck.

Here’s a flower. (This time it’s a funky Euro flower.)

Day 206 - Euro flower

6 comments on “Day 206: Force of habit.

  1. margaret21 says:

    I feel your pain. But did you really sneak into our garden to get that shot of a passion flower? (‘Euro flower’? Is that really what you call them?)

    • limr says:

      No, ‘Euro flower’ isn’t a technical term 🙂 I am terrible at identifying flowers other than very basic, common flowers. I had no idea what the proper name of that flower is, and I can’t recall ever seeing them here in the States. So, it’s a flower I saw in Europe, I don’t know the name…thus the ‘Euro flower’ moniker.

      But now I know what they are called! They’re pretty funky.

  2. Ouch!! I hope you treated yourself to a nice lunch once you rescued your purse!

Leave a Reply

