Day 158: D’oh!

It’s a good thing that our little jaunt to Maine this past weekend wasn’t for some kind of photo assignment because I might have failed. First it was the Polaroid that dropped out. I did have the Zorki and some black and white film but I really wanted some color film shots.

I thought all would be fine when I found a little store that actually sold the color film that I wanted. Excitedly, I loaded up the Zorki and started shooting.

Note to self: Next time, please remember to remove the yellow filter from the lens.

Sigh.

Day 158 - Yellow boatI suppose it sorta-kinda-maybe-justa-little-bit works in a funky, vintage-y way. Right? Anyone? Bueller?

Day 158 - Yellow lobster trapsA few pictures had enough red in them to push through the yellow.

Day 158 - Yellow buoys and buildingUsing the magic of post processing, I could adjust the color saturation and bring it back to a more natural look. I’ll try that, but it’s not a quick fix so I have to do some practicing with that before I’m ready to reveal. An easier way to salvage this roll using software is by switching it to black and white.

Day 159 - B&W boatOf course, I already have a lot of black and white shots using film that actually started out that way. I guess now I’ll have more that ended up that way.

Oh well. I’m going to take some comfort in knowing that at least my exposures were generally good on that roll.

And guess who will forever pay more attention to filters?

 

3 comments on “Day 158: D’oh!

  1. designerie says:

    I think the yellow filter image would look good in a bright blue frame as a sort of ‘Andy Warhol meets Ansel Adams’ You could do a short series of images with different color filters framed in contrasting colors and call it a pop art tribute then sell them to a restaurant in Maine with a locovore menu and $20 cocktails.

    • limr says:

      That’s really quite brilliant, actually! I could go back with a couple of different filters.I could even take pictures of the restaurant itself and sell them the prints. This has potential…

      I like how you think, designerie. Come back and visit again 🙂

  2. […] Remember when I advised that one should take off a yellow filter when shooting color film? […]

Leave a Reply

