Day 149: It’s still raining.

I like getting good pictures of rainy days. It’s a fun challenge. Looking at the forecast for the next ten days, I realize that I’d better make sure to bring a camera with me to work today and sneak out to get some shots. My next chance at it won’t be for more than a week. In the meantime, here’s this:

Day 149 - Durham Cathedral

Durham Cathedral. Durham, England. Summer 2002 (I think).

7 comments on “Day 149: It’s still raining.

  1. margaret21 says:

    Don’t you dare swank about how hard it is to get rainy days round your way. We have nothing else in Europe just now. Weeks of it. Thanks for a great shot of Durham, my son’s alma mater.

    • limr says:

      Who’s swanking? I’m the one who enjoys the rain, remember? 😉 It’s been quite rainy here as well, and cool. Today the temperature is starting to rise, though, and tomorrow it’s supposed to be sunny but hot and humid. That’s when I’ll start to complain!

      • margaret21 says:

        Ah. Winter and the cold I knew about. I hadn’t twigged you were pro-rain as well. Rising termperatures with you eh? Let’s swap 😉

      • limr says:

        Yup, I like rain. I associate the sun with heat, and I don’t tolerate heat very well. This is why I like winter sun better than summer sun. In winter, the sun is pleasantly warming; in summer, it’s oppressively hot. I also find that the bright sunshine in the height of the day is very harsh and it hurts my eyes. Oddly, it never occurred to me that this might be because I have light-colored eyes (green). Rain, then, becomes for me a respite from heat and harsh light.

        Don’t get me wrong – too much constant rain can be wearisome as well, but I have a higher tolerance for that than I have for day after day of sunlight. There needs to be variety.

  2. margaret21 says:

    Just seen my typo. I tink my brain drowned in all the rain 😦

  3. kevinallan says:

    That’s about 20 miles south from me; hope you enjoyed your trip and congratulations on maintaining a film-based 365 for so long – I gave up after about a week !

    • limr says:

      I did enjoy the trip, thank you. I was staying in Newcastle and had a couple of days all to myself to wander about. I took the train into Durham and also went to see Hadrian’s Wall and the sea. There was a torrential downpour and I got soaked to the bone, but didn’t care – it’s beautiful up there?

      I do have to resort to a digital shot now and again but I try to keep it to a minimum. The bulk of my posts are film.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment! That pinhole of Alnwick Castle you posted on Filmwasters is just stunning. You’ve inspired me to try infrared film.

Leave a Reply

