Day 59: Stained glass.

First things first: Yesterday’s picture was indeed, as some guessed, hail. We had a very brief little “storm” – more like a minor spat – a few nights ago, and I took a few shots.

I asked Karen, who correctly guess hail, an additional question: “Where is it?” I should use this as an example to my students of what happens when one is not precise with one’s language. Of course, the question seems to be asking where on the globe the hail fell. As Margaret pointed out, this would have indeed been a spurious question! What I should have written was something much more exact, such as “On what kind of surface is it lying?”

The answer to that question is: Lucille. I was at Buzz’ house and after the hail spat, I stepped outside to get something out of the car. I was struck by the contrast of the white against blue in the darkness, and I just put the camera on the roof and starting shooting, playing with focal lengths.

Thanks everyone for playing along! This was my second abstract-ish photo I’ve tried, and I think it’s fun so you might see some more of this type of photography as the year goes on.

And now onto new business:

Day 58 - Key

This is the key to the front door of my parents’ house. I was entrusted with it when I was 10 years old. I will never forget my mother telling me how convinced she was that I was going to lose the key. She made me wear the key on a homemade knitted lanyard around my neck. I can’t remember how long I had to wear it that way, but eventually I graduated to permission to use a key ring.

I confess that I get a little smug at times when I remind my mother that 30 years later, I still have the same key. I’ll also confess that she doesn’t seem very surprised that I never lost the key. She may have realized before I did that the best way to get me to do something was to tell me that I couldn’t.

Tonight, I was looking at that key and saw the words engraved on it: Hudson Glass. That’s where the key was made for me. It’s taken me far too long, but I finally made a connection between my key and two other doors in that house.

Day 58 - Stained glass doors

My father made those doors. I used to go with him to the glass shop. He’d check out the pane glass while I played with the little beads of colored glass stored in bins near the front of the store. There were all different sizes. I generally like the smaller ones, but the larger ones were also tempting. When I was well-behaved – or when I was charming and he was in the mood to indulge me – my father would buy me a few beads.

Day 58 - Red glass bead

I still have one of those, too.

***

Do you still carry physical reminders of your childhood?

6 comments on “Day 59: Stained glass.

  1. Annie says:

    I grew up in a very small town where every one left their houses unlocked (even through the night) and their keys in their cars. It seemed normal to me as a child but as I grew I realized how incredibly trusting that was of people.

    • limr says:

      There were some people in my town that left their doors unlocked as well, but we never did. It might have been because we lived on one of the main roads in town rather than a side road, so we were more visible to potential thieves. But mostly my parents were very overprotective. Not only did we have all the outside doors locked, but there was also a door at the end of the hallway upstairs where all the bedrooms are. They kept that locked too. With a chain connected to an alarm. I’m sure that was more about keeping us in than keeping someone else out! We had to learn how to be very careful of that alarm whenever we snuck downstairs after my parents went to bed. I remember sitting on my sister’s shoulders to get to that sucker 🙂

  2. vintagekaren says:

    I still have the skeleton key to one of my childhood homes. Like Annie, we rarely locked our doors, but somehow I ended up with the key and have hung onto it all these years. I keep it in a trinket box with my dad’s 1950s army dog tags. Love the doors your dad made and that you got to tag along to the glass store. Sounds like good memories!

    • limr says:

      I have a feeling I’ll be keeping this key even after my mother eventually sells the house. And we’ve already all called dibs on those doors! The house might go up for sale, but not everything in it is going to be sold. If I could find a way to bring the fireplace too, I would, but unfortunately that’s going to have to stay with the house.

  3. margaret21 says:

    I ought to provide a photo, as nobody will know what I’m talking about: not in the States anyway. It’s a little felt hanging toy in the shape of the 6 legged AGIP dog. Agip’s a make of petrol, originally Italian. It reminds me of those holidays in Italy every summer at a period when not many Brits holidayed abroad. But my father couldn’t tolerate the British summer, so off we went. I don’t think such extravagance can have cost too much: life was simple in the village where we went, so the air fare will have been the only expensive part of the holiday.

    • limr says:

      Oh, do you know how exotic it sounds to a girl from suburban New York to talk about childhood summers in a little village in Italy? It sounds so wonderful! I’d love to see that little dog. I’ve seen Agip petrol stations in Europe. Are they all over Europe now? I can’t remember what country I was in, but the name is definitely familiar. And now I’m curious – what was intolerable about British summers? If he took his family and fled to Italy, which must have been hot and possibly very dry depending on where in Italy you went, does that mean he was escaping rainy and cold summers? Or were they warm but too humid? (I’m apparently oddly fascinated at how different people react to different kinds of weather!)

Leave a Reply

