Day 45: Violets are not blue.

You know, teaching is a hell of a thing. Long hours, low pay, apathetic students, and mountains of grading…these things often dominate the daily life of a teacher and can become quite discouraging. But at most unexpected moments, something quietly reminds us of the intangible rewards that dispel the doubts and ease the exhaustion.

For me, a reminder came tonight in the form of a potted violet and a card from a former student who wanted to thank me for helping her be a better writer.

That’s all I needed to know.

Day 45 - Violet 1

9 comments on “Day 45: Violets are not blue.

  1. margaret21 says:

    I’ve just got one of those too…. but I had ti buy it for myself 😦

    • limr says:

      Good – you can give me instructions on how to keep it alive! I’m terrible with plants. I love them, and I keep trying to keep them, but I just don’t have a green thumb at all.

      • margaret21 says:

        Don’t talk to me then. I’ve just rescued a poor once-green object lying abjectly across the table croaking ‘Water, water…’. It may be too late.

Leave a Reply

