Day 41: The calm after the storm.

There was much shoveling to be done after our snow storm, but all things considered, it wasn’t that bad. I did twist my left wrist enough that I needed to wear my brace to avoid spraining it, but that wrist is already a bit gimpy and it’ll be fine in a day or two. Even the hours of constant physical exertion didn’t distract me from enjoying the fresh crisp air.

We had gorgeous blue skies.

Day 41 - Trees and sky

There was still green amidst all the white.

Day 41 - Snowy hedge

And delicate little plants kept their heads high and above the snow.

Day 41 - Weeds and snow

The snow was beautiful powder, great for sledding, snowman-making, or snowball fights, though I didn’t get to do any of those things today. Maybe tomorrow I’ll take a break from catching up on school work and sneak out to create a snow masterpiece! There’s really nothing like a good solid snow storm to make me feel like a kid again, flopping down for snow angels, digging tunnels in the snow drifts, and staying out until my nose is red and my fingers are numb. When it’s finally time to head inside, my fingers feel tingly and hot as they finally start to warm back up, wrapped around a big mug of fresh hot chocolate.

I’m sorry all you summer-loving people, but it just doesn’t get better than this.

***

I’m so grateful that we ended up with a lot of snow but no big problems, and I send out my best wishes to those in the areas that were hit with more severity. Good luck to you! May you stay warm and safe!

One comment on “Day 41: The calm after the storm.

  1. Lenore Diane says:

    Gimpy. We use the word gimpy, too. Made me smile, though I am not smiling at the fact that your wrist is gimpy. I hope it heals. The pictures are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

