Day 40: Snowy night.

This post is scheduled for 8:00 a.m. on Saturday, but at the moment, it’s 10:00 p.m. on Friday and this is what it looks like outside:

Day 40 - Snowy night

Please forgive the poor quality of the photo. I had to use the low light setting and that means a low resolution as well. I did try using the flash, even though I normally despise flash photography. I have to admit that the garishness of that flash looks kind of interesting here:

Day 40 - Snowy night flash

It gives a better indication of the snow that is still falling and not just the snow already on the ground.

And here’s the thing: the blizzard hasn’t started yet! 

The real fun is supposed to begin around 2:00 a.m., according to the latest weather update. That’s going to be the test: will we get off easy or will our luck run out? If I wake up and the alarm clock is still lit, then I’ll be out of the woods at my house.

Ironically, my house is surrounded by woods.

I wonder if I can keep my fingers crossed in my sleep.

***

*An update and a slightly better picture: The weather report no longer predicts blizzard conditions in my town, but we’re still getting plenty of snow! Look at what I see across the street:

Day 40 - MarketThat big red “Deli and Pizza” sign is often like a beacon to me. When I see that lit up, I know everything will be okay. Because pizza makes everything okay.

6 comments on “Day 40: Snowy night.

  1. Lenore Diane says:

    I love the fact that you live so close to a cute eatery. Beacon of light for certain.
    I hope the your beacon is shining bright this morning, as well as the trees in tact. We are surrounded by trees, too. I get a wee bit nervous with every storm we face.

    • limr says:

      Apart from a bit more noise than I care for, it really is pretty great to live out in the boondocks but still so close to a little market like that. Their food is good and they’re also good people.

      Most of the trees on our property are too far away to do any major damage to our house, but there’s a fir tree across the street that is massive. If that goes down and heads towards my house, it would land right on my bed. If it goes in the middle of the night? I’m toast! I just have to hope it doesn’t go before I can move 🙂

      • Lenore Diane says:

        Judging from this comment, I believe it is safe to assume it did not go down last night. That, or you moved in time. 🙂

      • limr says:

        Miracle of miracles, we got past this one without losing power! Probably because I had remembered to charge all my batteries and store up a lot of drinking water. Like making sure to bring an umbrella so it doesn’t rain 😉

  2. Annie says:

    Happy snow day!! Glad it wasn’t too terrible for you there. The snow is beautiful. And pizza on the horizon…how perfect. 🙂

    • limr says:

      Their pizza is really good, too. I don’t indulge too often at all, but when I do, it’s a nice treat. And as usual in the NY metro area, their slices are enormous, so one will last me for most of the day!

Leave a Reply

