Day 35: The beast.

When I first got the Mamiya 645 Pro TL, I didn’t really know what to do with it. I’d been shooting 35mm film exclusively and didn’t understand medium-format. I took the Mamiya out and approached my shots the same way I would as if I had my Pentax with me. The results were…okay.  I didn’t (and still don’t…yet) know how to develop and print my own film, so I had to rely on the commercially-done prints to show me what I could do.

And to tell you the truth, I was a little intimidated. It’s a beast of a camera.

Because I was unsure of myself, I didn’t use her very much. Then Buzz and I invested in a scanner for our film negatives, and I got the Lubitel, which meant that I was experimenting with medium-format again. Working with my film images on a computer somehow made things finally click in my head. I hadn’t been getting good results with the medium-format camera because I was thinking like a 35mm camera. I had to approach my shots in a totally different way.

It was time to break out my Mamiya again, so I took her for a test run, armed with my new theory.

(Does anyone else now have an Abba song stuck in their heads?)

Day 35 - River

A little on the underexposed side, but I kept trying and I began to get the hang of it.

Day 35 - Reeds and river

I got a bit more confidence and so I tried her on the street.

Day 35 - Reflection

I was slowly getting better with the exposure.

Day 35 - 21

I started to shoot wider than I usually do with my Pentax.

Day 35 - Cafe and music theater

But if the desire strikes me, the medium-format allows me to take that wider shot and focus on the smaller details that are usually the subject of my interest.

Day 35 - Music hall closeup

I’m really pleased with how this new approach is working with the Mamiya, so I hope to keep practicing with her and bring you more from The Beast.

Leave a Reply

