Day 30: Outside.

These first two pictures are similar to some I posted a couple of weeks ago, but the earlier shots were taken with my digital camera. All the pictures in today’s and tomorrow’s post are from my Zorki 6, a 50ish-year-old Russian rangefinder camera. It’s a vague copy of more famous cameras such as Leicas and Voigtlanders, having been made using the same or similar designs after German companies were forced to give up patents and equipment after World War 2.  Here’s a bit more information if you’re interested. 

While I would adore owning a real live Leica, alas, my finances only allow the Russian versions for now.

Having just called my camera a knock-off, I must say it’s a pretty great knock-off, and many of these Russian brands have a reputation for producing quality equipment. In fact, who here has heard of Instagram? Anyone? Oh yes, all of you? Instagram, as you know, is a filter for digital pictures to give them certain effects, often making them look like vintage shots, or cool funky happy “accidents” with light leaks or jagged borders. This is the digital version of lomography, which is a style of photography inspired by LOMO, a brand of these Russian lenses. Here’s the Wikipedia entry on lomography.

I had my little Russian with me on a foggy photo walk, along with my digital, and here’s what I got:

Day 30 - Foggy Pond 2

Day 30 - House by riverI brought her (cameras, as cars, are female in my mind, fyi) along with me on a day in Manhattan as well. She did particularly well in Central Park:

Day 30 - Bridge in Central Park

Day 30 - Central Park

Day 30 - Trees in Central Park

Because she doesn’t have a light meter, I have to rely on my own judgement to get the right settings. I don’t always get it right, but I’m getting better. Luckily Tri-X is also a kindly forgiving film.

Tomorrow we’ll see how she does inside.

5 comments on “Day 30: Outside.

  1. Annie says:

    These would make some awesome art work for a living space. Have you gotten any of them printed on a large canvas? The very first one and then the one of the bridge are my favorites. 🙂

    • limr says:

      I haven’t yet, but I would love to get some of them printed and framed. I will at some point, but I can’t until I have more money and more wall space 😉

  2. vintagekaren says:

    Love the moody quality!!

    • limr says:

      Thanks! I was really pleased with it. Fog is always wonderfully spooky by the river and I was happy I had a chance to get down there with some cameras.

  3. […] You can read more about what he learnt from the Zorki here […]

Leave a Reply

