Day 25: Back to school.

Ah, you thought I had already gone back to school on Tuesday, did you?

Well, yes I did actually. I started teaching one of my writing classes on Tuesday morning and the other on Wednesday evening.

But Friday marks my first day back this semester as a student.

The first day of class feels very different when you enter it as a student rather than a teacher. There is a lot more preparation involved as a teacher, and the starting day almost feels like opening night. There is a lot of pressure to be organized and ready to go from the minute you step into that classroom.  I don’t think I’m the only instructor to have ever had teaching nightmares. I get them quite often, however, at the start of every semester.

Let me tell you about this year’s nightmare.

I was teaching my class on the first night, and many of the students were repeats from a previous level so we all felt comfortable with each other. Suddenly, however, I realized that there were a lot more students coming in than I had on my roster. The room also seemed to expand into a lecture hall. At some point, I figured they were in the wrong place, so I asked for anyone taking Spanish 101 to please raise their hands. “Go away!” I said to those students. “Your classroom is down the hall!”

They all trooped out, but something was still wrong. Now it was just me and my students, but the lecture hall had morphed into the gymnasium and the marching band was playing. I asked why they were there, because my class was clearly scheduled for the gym for that time. The director told me that they always practiced at the same time every day in the gym, no matter what class was in progress. I knew I was going to have to teach all semester long next to that fully-uniformed marching band as they performed.

That’s when I woke up in the cold sweat. Okay, it’s been well below freezing in New York for several days, so it was really just waking up in the cold.

But today is different. Sure, I’ll have to pay attention and do my assignments and study for tests.  But today? All I have to do is show up on time and remember to bring a pencil.

Bliss. Just bliss.

Luckily I just got a new pencil sharpener, so I’m all ready to go!

Kickin' it old school. Maybe I'll bring the teacher an apple.

Kickin’ it old school. Maybe I’ll bring the teacher an apple.

4 comments on “Day 25: Back to school.

  1. vintagekaren says:

    Love the vintage pencil sharpener…it looks very at home on this shelf!

    • limr says:

      Thanks! I seem to have collected quite a few working “vintage” items, including a candlestick phone that’s currently plugged into one of the land line jacks. I like old things that I can still use.

  2. Lenore Diane says:

    My Dad had one of those pencil sharpeners on his workbench. You’d often find me there sharpening my pencils vs. the quirky electronic one upstairs. I loved that manual sharpener. Hmm… I wonder where it is now.

    So, do you suffer from personality issues because you are wearing two different hats during the week?

    Some nightmares involve showing up naked. Your nightmare took it to a whole new level – having to show up in a band uniform! AAAAAAAAAAH!!

    • limr says:

      I do feel a little weird when I’m in class as a student, but I’m getting more used to it. The first class I took was definitely strange. Last term in Litigation, I couldn’t help but notice that the professor probably hasn’t been teaching very long. He was competent enough and I don’t think he was brand new to the classroom, but there was still a lingering “new teacher” scent that experienced teachers recognize from their own early days. I think this semester, it’s finally feeling less weird. It reminds me of grad school when I had to take and teach classes at the same time. Only then, I thought of myself more as a student who also teaches. Now I am a teacher who also studies.

      This sharpener is in good shape, too, so I get a nice sharp point. Love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

