Day 17: Pièce de résistance.

A bit of housekeeping is in order.

When reading about Project 365 to get ideas, I found many sites that suggested bloggers post in the evening to be sure they had a chance to get the best possible shot for the day. Incurable night owl that I am, this seemed to make sense to me, so I gave it a try.

I’ve found that using this approach has encouraged a certain level of inconsistency in my posting, yesterday’s forgetfulness being a prime example. I notice it more when I’m using pictures from one solitary photo outing or scanning over the course of several days. For this reason, I’ll be posting a bit differently from now on. I’ll still prepare posts at night, but I’ll schedule them to publish in the morning. This way I can keep my nocturnal ways but maintain a consistent schedule of posting.

Starting tomorrow, posts will be published in the morning. As an intermediary step, this one is going up in the afternoon so the posts aren’t on each other’s heels.

Enough! Onto the pictures! The following are the final shots (for now!) from the Pentax. They were all taken in Bayeux, France. There was no post-processing other than some cropping.

Day 17 - Parking des remparts

Day 17 - Mannequin 2

Day 17 - Boulanger

Day 17 - Cyclist on cobblestone

The following is possibly my favorite shot I’ve ever taken, less because of any technical detail in the picture itself, and more because of how perfectly it matches the scene, the mental image, and the feelings I wanted to capture at that moment. I didn’t even have to crop it.

I honestly can’t keep my eyes off of it.

This is the reason I continue to work in film with a manual camera – to learn the skill of knowing how to get the picture right in the first place without relying on automatic corrections by the camera or software fixes. After 20 years, I’m still more miss than hit for my tastes, but I’m thrilled that I can get it exactly right once in a while.

Naturally, I know what I was feeling and noticing when I took the picture, and that is what I see when I look at it again, but someone else might take something completely different out of this image. Whatever it is that you see, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Day 17 - Bayeux cafe and street

So now I’m curious: what are you “seeing” in any of the pictures in this post?
2 comments on “Day 17: Pièce de résistance.

  1. margaret21 says:

    I love the feeling of – dunno what to call it – emptiness really, that is so often a feature of French towns and villages. The deserted streets, the shuttered houses, At certain (limited) times it will all come to life, and you’ve caught that curious feeling of suspended animation: even in your more peopled last shot at the bar. Clearly the customers there haven’t yet realised that all the other inhabitants thought it was time to get back indoors. I love that shot too.

    • limr says:

      That’s funny because I didn’t realize exactly what it was that I had been noticing until you described that sense of suspended animation. That is just what it was like in Bayeux. The mornings bustled and when the sun went down, things came back to life, but there was this very curious time in the afternoon – past lunchtime, even – when we’d walk down main streets and it felt like everyone had just left town or something. Maybe that’s why that particular group of people at the cafe stood out to me so much. They weren’t especially loud or obnoxious or anything, but the activity did seem to be unusual at that time in that place.

      The other interesting thing that I’d totally forgotten about until now is that I took that same picture with the digital camera I had with me. I took it in color but even when I switch it to black and white using my Corel software, it still doesn’t have the same feel as the film version. Hmmmm, I think I might have to do a post about it.

      Actually, I used a different shot (from the digital) from that scene in one of my Linguist posts back in 2011. It’s definitely a cool shot – I caught one of the men looking straigt at me, but it’s just a totally different thing than the one in this post.
      http://asalinguist.com/2011/07/07/its-that-old-je-ne-sais-what/

Leave a Reply

