Day 15: The return of film.

Just last week, I finally remembered that I had four rolls of black and white film from a vacation Buzz and I had taken in the summer of 2011. It wasn’t my intention for this 365 project to include old pictures, but in a sense, these are new. They weren’t scanned into my computer until this year (no prints were ever made – I get the film developed and scan the negatives into digital form.)

I’m calling that legal.

This also marks the debut of film pictures. These were all taken with my first camera love, my trusty sidekick: a 20-year-old Pentax K1000, totally manual with just a light meter for guidance. I’ll be posting from those rolls until Friday. I’m starting with the beaches.

Utah Beach, Normandy, France

Utah Beach, Normandy, France

 

Wheat above Omaha Beach, Normandy, France

Wheat above Omaha Beach, Normandy, France

 

 

2 comments on “Day 15: The return of film.

  1. Lenore Diane says:

    I took a camera with me when I went to the Grand Canyon. My Dad’s old Canon, with 35 mm film. The camera was old and quirky. I realized, midroll, the film was not advancing with each picture. So many ‘perfect’ shots ended up non-existent. It was crushed.
    I love these pictures, Leonore. Perhaps I love them more knowing they area taken the old fashion way.

    • limr says:

      I did that a few times with the Lubitel, but the other cameras I have protect me from that because the shutter won’t open unless I’ve advanced the film. But what I did do with the last roll of 35mm I shot was that I twice (!) forgot that there was film in the camera and I opened the back of the camera. I lost a few shots entirely and there are a lot more half shots. Grrr!

Leave a Reply

