Day 14: Icon.

It may seem perhaps predictable or unimaginative, but one of my favorite buildings in New York is the Chrysler Building, in all its Art Deco glory. Many other buildings are as beautiful and iconic, but nothing quite comes as close as capturing the promise and romance the city holds for so many. When the dark underbelly of the city starts to overwhelm, the Chrysler is there as a bright, hopeful reminder of what could be.

Day 14 - Chrysler

4 comments on “Day 14: Icon.

  1. margaret21 says:

    That’s great. I’ve nrver visited New York and for me this is an astonsihing view of a building I only know from picture postcard style shots

    • limr says:

      I like to take pictures that are not postcard shots. I think part of that is because I like pictures of details rather than wide angle shots, but I also tend to enjoy pictures that make me see common objects in a different way. For this shot, I was lucky enough to have access to a 20th floor apartment with a view of the top of the Chrysler, plus a 12x zoom lens. As for the light – well, light is always hitting that building in interesting ways 🙂

      Perhaps one day you’ll get to see it in person.

  2. Lenore Diane says:

    That is incredible. The sky was perfect, the light was perfect, and your location was perfect. Proof it is good to have friends in high places, Leonore. (wink)

Leave a Reply

