Day 8: A millisecond in time.

On Sunday’s photo outing, I had two cameras with me. Being a dinosaur, I naturally brought one of my film cameras with me. I still enjoy developing my photography skills using bare bones, totally manual cameras. My camera of choice on Sunday was my Zorki 6. It’s a Russian made rangefinder made between 1959 and 1966. The first Zorki model was essentially a copy of a Leica II (originally produced in 1932) and the model 6 is a modified version of that original design. They’re funky little Soviet cameras and it’s been far too long since mine had been out to play.

Alas, I am limited in what I can do with film for my photo-a-day project. I can’t share the film pictures on the same day they were taken. I do plan on sharing any good shots I take on film, but there will be a necessary delay for processing and scanning before I’m able to trot them out for display. This means I will need to rely on my Canon digital for the bulk of my pictures for this project. It doesn’t sit well with my dinosaur soul, but it’s a necessary concession.

Still, even I have to admit that digital has its advantages beyond the convenience of instant gratification. I could, for example, take about 30 frames of one scene until I finally capture the exact image I’d been so patiently awaiting:

All too fleeting.

All too fleeting.

In the wise words of Ferris Bueller, life (and water) moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.

And sometimes, you just have to rely on a fast shutter, continuous shooting, and a large-enough memory card.

6 comments on “Day 8: A millisecond in time.

  1. margaret21 says:

    Impressed! I got a new (to me) camera at Christmas, and am looking forward to experimenting to catch images like that.

  2. Lenore Diane says:

    Fantastic, Leonore.

Leave a Reply

