Day 7: Introducing Buzz

We’ve been together for almost 8 years but have known each other for more than 25 years.

I’ll spare you the pictures of either one of us in high school sporting the 80s mullet.

In many ways, Buzz* and I are polar opposites. We vote for different political parties. He eats meat and potatoes and precious few vegetables, but I am a vegetarian who occasionally eats some fish. He reads non-fiction almost exclusively, and I pack my shelves with fiction, biographies, and linguistics. He despises winter; it’s my favorite season. At least we are both higher ed teachers in the humanities/social sciences: he teaches history and political science; I teach literature and writing.

It helps to have similar hobbies. Except it also makes me envious of his new DSLR.

It helps to have similar hobbies. Except it also makes me envious of his new DSLR.

But these are the trivial things. The ways in which we fit are far more important than the ways in which we don’t, and those ways can be boiled down into one concept: we just get each other. It seems to be an utterly trite and banal cliché, but I have to say it: he accepts me exactly the way I am. I can be myself without fear of being punished or “fixed.” And I do the same for him. That trumps everything.

Plus, he likes cats, which of course is the real test.

We're also both quite silly, and that's a pretty strong glue.

We’re also both quite silly, and that’s a pretty strong glue.

These pictures were both taken yesterday at a photo outing we took at a little river town in upstate New York. I’ll be sharing some more of that batch of pictures for the rest of the week.

*Names have been changed to protect the curmudgeonly paramour who prefers to remain relatively anonymous on the Internets.

2 comments on “Day 7: Introducing Buzz

  1. Lenore Diane says:

    Hi Buzz!! Good to ‘see’ you!

Leave a Reply

