Day 3: Iron Tomato

One of the great things about the New York metropolitan area is the availability of many different kinds of cuisines, via both restaurants and small grocery stores. Italian, Jamaican, Turkish, Spanish, Ethiopian, Indian, Peruvian, and yes, even Portuguese…you name it and there’s probably a little mom-and-pop somewhere in the tri-state area that will have exactly what you’re looking for.

Tonight’s excursion was to a primarily Italian grocery. There were the cookies of course:

They do look pretty, don't they?

They do look pretty, don’t they?

These cookies are often bought in bulk, mixed together in a box that is tied with a red and white string. They are common at office parties, book club meetings, and birthday potlucks.

As pretty as they are, they aren’t usually what tempt me. Sure, one or two cookies are fine, but that tends to be enough to satisfy my not-so-sweet tooth. I’m much more likely to drool over the cheese selection or freshly-baked loaves of bread.

And then there’s this little bottle of heaven:

The first taste was free. Now I have to pay dearly for my fix.

The first taste was free. Now I have to pay dearly for my fix.

Luckily a little bit goes a long way.

What’s your poison, sweet or savory?

4 comments on “Day 3: Iron Tomato

  1. margaret21 says:

    Two great photos today. Does that let you off tomorrow? I’m with you. Cheese is something I find hard to leave alone, and good bread too. And oil… well, we’re in ghe right part of the world for that too. But I need help with the allusion in your title. Iron tomato?

    • limr says:

      I think that would be pretty amusing, if I just posted 365 pictures on Jan.1st and called it done 😉

      The Iron Tomato is the name of the store. I’ve never really understood it either. It used to be much more of a grocery but in the past year it seems to have focused much more on the bakery and prepared foods, which is a little disappointing. They had great spices, olive oils and balsamic vinegars, and cheese but that selection has been cut way back. Good thing there’s about a hundred other good Italian markets in the area 🙂

  2. Lenore Diane says:

    Thankfully, cookies don’t tempt me, either. I suppose my taste leans more towards savory. Alas, with this flu – I’m not craving much of anything.

    • limr says:

      Oh, I feel your pain, Lenore. I lost my appetite too, but for some reason I craved oranges. Thankfully there were a lot of them in the house – clementines – and I was eating them like candy.

      I hope you start feeling better soon. It’s going to take a while to recover, even when the worst of it is over. But the good news is that of course this too shall pass!

Leave a Reply

