Biting the bullet.

New Year’s Day. A day for hangovers, resolutions, and new beginnings.

Or just a continuation of the same crap, different year.

I’m actually a fan of resolutions. I don’t make out a list or put specific goals on post-it notes around the house to remind myself to lose 20 pounds, floss more, smile more often. I don’t often make such specific demands of myself. Instead, I simply try to make things better at the end of the year than they were at the start. The first day of a new year has always seemed to be the best time to reflect on how I’ve done in the previous 12 months, and then figure out what I can improve on for the following 12 months.

I’m sure I’m not alone in wanting to focus on my fitness. I am purposely not calling these “weight-loss” goals because it’s frankly just too depressing and clichéd. It’s also not entirely accurate. Without going into boring detail, I’ll just say that I a couple of years ago, I felt a lot better than I did in all of 2012, and I am resolved to getting that back.

The tricky part is how.

Like many people, I know what I have to do to accomplish certain goals, but I am not always able to be as consistent as I need to be in order to reach them. I’ve decided this year to help myself along, to inspire myself to be consistent in one goal in my life by being consistent in others.

Enter the 365 photo-a-day project.

Fellow blogger Lenore Diane just completed her own Project 366 (she had the guts to do it during a leap year) and I felt inspired to pick up where she left off and start my own one-photo-per-day project.

The idea is to take and post one photo every day for a year. I don’t know if there are specific rules but I’m sure I’ll break a few of them as I go along. It might be difficult some days to get a photo up, but I’m willing to try.

I know I'll probably never to an unassisted pull-up, but I do plan on doing quite a few assisted ones.

I know I’ll probably never to an unassisted pull-up, but I do plan on doing quite a few assisted ones.

Wish me luck!

8 comments on “Biting the bullet.

  1. Lenore Diane says:

    Good luck, Leonore! I genuinely look forward to seeing snapshots of your world. With regards to rules, I didn’t know nothin’ ’bout no stinkin’ rules. I didn’t follow any rules, other than posting a picture every day.
    Funny thing…it felt weird not posting a picture today. I didn’t even pick up my camera once. That’s the first time I haven’t picked up my camera in 366 days! Sha’woo.
    Go get ’em, Leonore!

  2. margaret21 says:

    Mmm. That would be a challenge too far for me. Those rainy days (like today), those chilly days, those days when I don’t really leave the house. Someone with a good eye can shoot great pictures of a dish cloth. Great idea and good luck. Really look forward to seeing how this develops. Um. Do dinosaurs use cameras? Just asking.

    • limr says:

      Ack! I think I just lost my reply! All these new “convenient” ways of replying to comments that WordPress have designed do have their advantages, but they certainly are temperamental.

      Dinosaurs do use cameras – good question 🙂 We prefer film but then I wouldn’t be able to upload the picture right away, so I think the bulk of the pictures this year will have to be from a digital camera. I still plan a few “theme series” pictures that I can take with film.

  3. Annie says:

    I’m hoping to write more regularly on my blog! That’s my goal. This past month was tough.

    Here’s to a productive year for us all! 🙂

    • limr says:

      I don’t blame you for not having much time to write in the past month. Getting through the holidays with four kids? I don’t even have one and I barely survived it 😉

Leave a Reply

