It’s a dog’s life

The calm in a storm, the shelter from a cold, winter wind. Stepping inside, I filled my lungs with the smell of fresh coffee beans and looked for a place to sit. It was not crowded and I chose a seat in a corner near the beautiful old roaster. I watched the dogs lie on the floor, occasionally snapping their heads up when the bell over the front door rang to announce a new visitor.  There was plenty of reading to do, but it was too peaceful to do work, so I kept watching. Time took a little break for me. Some people talked with friends while others were immersed in newspapers or books. Sometimes, a lucky dog got a treat from the counter. The smell of roasting and baking almost lulled me right to sleep. I shook myself awake and thought that this would never work with cats.

Leave a Reply

